Planning Commission


Acts in an advisory capacity to City Council in planning the development of the City (subdivisions, rezoning, parks, etc.).


Monthly – 2nd and 4th Wednesday
4:00 p.m.
City Hall 2nd Floor Training Room
900 Church Street


Tom Rogers, Chair
Ward 2
Kensie Johnson, Vice Chair
Ward 1
Robert H. Bowden, III
Ward 1
Charles Gammon
Ward 3
David Perault 
Ward 4
Nancy Marion
Ward 2

Dave Henderson
Ward 2


2023 Planning Commission Roster

Liaison:  Tom Martin - 434-455-3909 

Community Development Department Director: Kent White                                                               
Membership:  The city planning commission shall be composed of seven (7) members.   

The members of the city planning commission shall be appointed by the city council. In December of each year, the council shall appoint three (3) or two (2) members, as the case may be, to the city planning commission for terms beginning the succeeding January, to take the place of those whose terms expire.  All members appointed to the commission shall serve from the January first succeeding their appointment for a term of three (3) years, or until their successors are duly appointed and qualified.   (Code 1959, § 24-1) 

December appointment