Other Court Services
The Circuit Court Clerk's Office provides a host of services. Should you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact the Clerk's Office at (434) 455-2620.
As of January 1, 2020, the Clerk's Office of the State Corporation Commission is the central filing office in Virginia for all certificates of assumed or fictitious name. All certificates of assumed or fictitious name must be prepared on a form prescribed by the Commission.
If you would like to dissolve your assumed or fictitious name and it was originally recorded with Lynchburg Circuit Court, you must complete and file a Certificate Dissolving Assumed Name with the Lynchburg Circuit Court Clerk's Office. The fee for dissolving your assumed or fictitious name is $10 if paid by cash or check or an additional $2 if paid by Visa or MasterCard.
Judgments are recorded in the Circuit Court for money owed according to a court order, Federal and State Tax liens, unpaid criminal fines and costs and unpaid child support.
- Docketing a Judgment – $10 fee recording fee
- Judgment must meet requirements of VA Code 8.01-446
- Foreign Judgments – $25 fee recording fee
- Judgment Releases – no fee to release a judgment. Judgment must be released by the creditor.
Satisfaction or Release of Judgment Form CC-1463
Lynchburg Circuit Court has resumed holding jury trials, beginning April 2021. Juries are held for both civil and criminal trials. If you are summonsed for jury duty, your term lasts for the entire month. If you have any scheduled conflicts during your entire term such as a prepaid vacation or surgery, we recommend you contact the Clerk’s Office to see if your jury term can be adjusted to accommodate your schedule.
You will receive a packet of information in the mail which includes an informational letter, parking pass and questionnaire. If you have misplaced your letter and questionnaire, you can download these documents below. If you have misplaced your parking pass, please contact the Clerk’s Office.
The informational letter advises you to call the jury hotline to see if the jury trial you are scheduled for is ongoing or canceled. You should only call this hotline number (434) 455-2626 the evening before and early the morning of each report date.
- Jury Letter Document & Questionnaire
- Answer Book for Jury Service
- Handbook for Grand Jurors
- Jury Duty Orientation Video: Supreme Court Jury Video
The applicants must appear together at the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court with valid identification. The fee is $32.50 and includes a certified copy of the marriage license if paid by cash, check or money order. An added $2 convenience fee is charged for credit or debit card transactions. You will need to know the following personal information to complete your marriage license application.
The license must be used within sixty (60) days of issuance or returned to the Clerk's Office for filing. There is no waiting period to be married after you receive your marriage license. The marriage ceremony must be performed by a person authorized to perform ceremonies by a Virginia Circuit Court. If your pastor is an out-of-state minister, they will need to register with a Virginia Circuit Court to be authorized to perform Virginia ceremonies. Certified copies of marriage licenses issued in this office may be obtained for $2.50. For information regarding the minimum age requirements and consent, refer to Section 20-48 and 20-49 of the Code of Virginia.
The Court has a list of full-time marriage celebrants who are authorized by the Court to perform civil ceremonies in Virginia. If you would like to have a civil ceremony performed by someone who is not a minister but lives within the 24th Circuit of Virginia, they can apply to be a one-time celebrant. The filing fee for a one-time or full-time celebrant is $56 and the petition should include at least one letter of recommendation. If approved, applicants may be required to post a $500 bond payable by cash or cashier's check.
Completing a Virginia Marriage License - for Celebrants or Officiants
The minister or celebrant is responsible for ensuring they have received authorization to perform VA wedding ceremonies from a Circuit Court in Virginia and should complete the full bottom portion on both A and B copies of the marriage license and return them to the issuing court. See the example for completing a marriage in the link below:
Notary Public Commission
A Notary Public is a person legally empowered to witness and certify documents and to take affidavits and depositions. Applications for appointment as a Notary Public are made to the Secretary of the Commonwealth. A notary commission is valid for 4 years.
To be eligible to apply for a Virginia Notary Public Commission, you must be:
- At least eighteen years old,
- Able to read and write the English language,
- A legal resident of the United States,
- Live or work in the Commonwealth of Virginia, and
- Have not been convicted of a felony. Any person who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of the United States or this Commonwealth, or the laws of any other state, shall not qualify to be appointed and commissioned as a Virginia Notary Public unless such person has had his/her civil rights restored.
To become a notary or to renew a Notary Commission, an application must be completed and submitted to the Secretary of the Commonwealth. You can obtain these from the Secretary of the Commonwealth or by contact them at (804) 786-2441.
Once submitted, the Secretary of the Commonwealth will notify the applicant when their commission is ready to be picked up at the Circuit Court of their choice. Notaries can pick up their commission anytime between 8:30 a.m. and 4 p.m. by bringing a photo ID, $10 cash or check ($2 additional for a credit or debit transaction). It is recommended that you bring your notary letter or number.
Passports are issued between 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. every day on a walk-in basis. We do not take photos or issue money orders so you must have your 2” x 2” passport photos and check or money order with you when you apply. Please visit the website below for a full list of required documents and answers to frequently asked questions. The Circuit Court charges a separate $35 processing fee per passport that can be paid by cash, check, money order or credit card (with a $2 processing fee).
Other Helpful Links
- Court of Appeals
- General District Court
- Juvenile & Domestic Relations Court
- Lawyer Referral Service
- Library of Virginia
- Cynap Pro System Operating Instructions (Courtroom A/V)
- Supreme Court
- Virginia Bar Association
- Virginia Code
- Virginia State Bar
- Virginia Legal Aid Society
- Virginia State Police
- WSET – Weather Updates
The Office of the Clerk of Circuit Court is committed to public service. We are dedicated to providing our patrons with excellent customer service and will assist you with any questions or concerns about our policies and procedures.
However, we are prohibited by law from giving legal advice, restating the law or recommending legal action. It is not the intention of our office, nor of this web site, to offer legal solutions. Questions regarding interpretation of the law should be directed to an attorney licensed in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
The purpose of this information is to better inform the general public of procedural matters. Nothing contained herein is intended to advise anyone as to legal remedies for a particular circumstance. Circuit Court Clerks and their Deputy Clerks cannot render legal advice.