Economic Development Authority


The Economic Development Authority of the City of Lynchburg is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia and serves as the incentive arm of the City. Lynchburg’s EDA takes an active role in economic development efforts, actively pursuing investment and development opportunities, and elevating the economic development profile of the City.  EDA members are appointed by City Council and may serve up to three consecutive four year terms. 


3rd Thursday monthly, 8:30 a.m.
City Council Chambers
900 Church Street


*Members are required to fill out a Statement of Economic Interest Form, pursuant to §2.2-3115 of the Code of Virginia.

Kim Soerensen (Ward 1)


Kim Soerensen is the CEO & President of the United Way of Central Virginia and previously served as the Executive Director at Riverviews Artspace from 2016 to 2022. She is an advocate and an entrepreneur with an extensive career in design and global business. Originally from Germany, Soerensen immigrated to L.A. in 1986 after earning her degree in Design from the Blocherer School of Design at the University of Munich. Kim moved to Lynchburg in 1998 where she concurrently began a family and her own businesses. 

R. Sackett Wood (Ward 4)

Sackett Wood is a native of Lynchburg, Virginia. He graduated from E.C. Glass High School in 1983 and went on to graduate from the University of Virginia with a BA in English in 1987. He began his career in banking, working for First Union (now Wells Fargo) upon graduation as a Commercial Lender in Charlotte, NC and Columbia, SC. Wood then joined Moore & Giles in 1990 as a sales associate. In 1993, he became Vice President and then President in 2006. He currently serves as the company’s CEO.

Richard Tugman (Ward 4) - Vice Chair


Richard is the CEO of Piedmont Community Health Plan. Piedmont is a for-profit subsidiary of Centra that provides health insurance to individuals and companies in the region and beyond. He joined that company as chief executive in 2016 and has been responsible for modernizing its infrastructure, strengthening its workforce, and – most recently – gaining approval for a multi-million dollar investment in new technology to promote growth. He will return to this role as soon as Centra hires a permanent CEO.

Prior to joining PCHP and Centra, Richard was Vice President and General Counsel of Fleet Laboratories – a well-known international consumer healthcare company, originally headquartered in Lynchburg that has since been acquired by Prestige Consumer Healthcare.

Georgeann Snead (Ward 1)

is President and CEO of Electronic Design and Manufacturing, an employee-owned manufacturer of printed circuit board assemblies started in the Lynchburg Business Development Centre in 1990. Prior to joining EDM, Georgeann served as the first director of the Lynchburg Business Development Centre. Georgeann is a graduate of Davidson College and is actively involved in the community, serving on several local boards. 

John M. Stone (Ward 1) - Chair

John is a First Vice President / Investments with Stifel Nicolaus, a national financial services firm. A graduate of Hampden-Sydney College, John has more than 21 years of experience in wealth management. He holds the CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst) and AIF (Accredited Investment Fiduciary) designations. He is a member of the CFA Institute and Richmond Society of Financial Analysts. John currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Lynchburg Regional Business Alliance and Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation, and is a member and Past President of the Rotary Club of Lynchburg-Morning.

Sean Huyett (Ward 1)

Sean Huyett joined the staff of Westminster Canterbury in May 2010, as President and CEO.  Before coming to Westminster Canterbury, Mr. Huyett was involved in retirement communities in North Carolina for 14 years.  Sean has experience with both not-for-profit and for-profit organizations over the past 26 years.  Mr. Huyett has a Bachelor of Science in Health Services Administration and a Master of Business Administration from James Madison University.  Sean and his wife Leigh have two college-age children.  Sean is a board member at the United Way and a member of the Lynchburg Morning Rotary Club.   

Patricia Mosby (Ward 2) - Secretary-Treasurer

Pat is a native of Lynchburg and graduated from E. C. Glass High School.  After fifteen years of employment with General Electric, she relocated to Alexandria VA, beginning her career with the Department of Defense and Department of the Navy. She was a tutor and mentor for the Navy Kids Program that was established to assist lower income elementary students from Washington, DC with their school work and in building their self-esteem. She earned her Bachelor of Science Degree in Legal Studies from the University of Maryland University College.   Pat retired and moved back to Lynchburg where she works part-time for BWX Technologies, Inc. and volunteers at the Academy Center of the Arts. 

As of 07/2021

Liaison - Marjette Upshur: 434-455-4490

Membership:  The Board of Directors is composed of seven (7) directors, appointed by the council of the City of Lynchburg, Virginia. No director shall be an officer or employee of the municipality.

NOTE:  New members must file a Statement of Economic Interest form and take an oath of office with the Clerk of Court. Maximum of three 4-year terms.

Reference: Code of Virginia Section 15.1-1377; Ord. #O-80-295 adopted 9-23-80

June appointment