Sec. 36-153. Same—Commonwealth-owned real estate.
(a) There is hereby imposed upon all real estate owned by the Commonwealth of Virginia located within the corporate limits of the city a service charge in lieu of real estate taxes.
(b) The rate per one hundred dollars ($100.00) of assessed value for such service charge shall be fixed annually by the city director of fiscal management within thirty-one (31) days after the beginning of the fiscal year for which it is assessed, pursuant to the provisions of Section 58-16.2 of the Code of Virginia (1950) as amended.
(c) Such charge shall be due and collectible, including penalties and interest for late payments, if any, as real estate taxes assessed and collected under Section 36-171.
(d) The charge assessed under this section shall be assessed for the fiscal year commencing July 1, 1978, and annually thereafter until changed by council.
(e) Pursuant to this section, the director of fiscal management reported to council on August 8, 1978, the following schedule of service charges on tax exempt property for fiscal year 1978-1979:
(1) For properties receiving police, fire and refuse collection services, a rate of twenty-nine cents ($0.29) per one hundred dollars ($100.00) of assessed value for property located in the old city and twenty-five cents ($0.25) per one hundred dollars ($100.00) of assessed value for property in the annexed area.
(2) For those properties classified as faculty and staff housing, a rate of seventy-two and one-half cents ($0.725) per one hundred dollars ($100.00) for property in the old city and sixty-two and one-half cents ($0.625) per one hundred dollars ($100.00) in the annexed area. (Tax Code 1941, § 117.18; Ord. of 2-28-78)
Last updated date: 10/23/2006 4:15:21 PM