You are here

    Home » Sec. 25-88. Prohibited Operation of Certain Vehicles not Designed for Transportation of Passengers; Checking on Weights.

    Sec. 25-88. Prohibited Operation of Certain Vehicles not Designed for Transportation of Passengers; Checking on Weights.

     

    Sec. 25-88. Prohibited operation of certain vehicles not designed for transportation of passengers; checking on weights.
     
    (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to operate or to permit the operation of any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer for which the fee for registration and license plates is prescribed by Code of Virginia, section 46.1-154, on any highway of this city, under any of the following circumstances:
     
    (1) Without first having paid the required registration and license plate fee;
     
    (2) Without having painted on each side thereof, if such marking is required by Code of Virginia, section 46.1-158.1, the empty weight of such vehicle and the gross weight on the basis of which it is registered and licensed; or,
     
    (3) If, at the time of any such operation, the gross weight of the vehicle, or of the combination of vehicles of which it is a part, is in excess of the gross weight on the basis of which it is registered and licensed.
     
    (b) Any officer authorized to enforce the motor vehicle laws, having reason to believe that the gross weight of any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer being operated on any highway of this city exceeds that on the basis of which such vehicle is registered and licensed, is authorized to weigh the same by such means as the superintendent may prescribe and the operator, or other person in possession of such vehicle, shall permit such weighing whenever requested by such officer.
     
    (c) Any person who violates any provision of this section or who operates or permits the operation of a trailer or semitrailer designed for the use of human beings as living quarters, upon the highways of this city without having first paid to the commissioner the fee prescribed in Code of Virginia, section 46.1-149(4), is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than ten dollars ($10.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00), or by confinement in jail for not more than six (6) months or by both such fine and imprisonment. (Code 1959, § 20-53)
     
    Last updated date: 10/23/2006 4:15:21 PM