You are here
Rental Program Process
How the Residential Rental Property Inspection Program Works
- Staff maintains a database of residential rental properties.
- The rental property owner(s) registered with Lynchburg City Assessor's office is referred to as; "the responsible party" for all correspondence material and documentation, mailed either manual or digital, from the Inspections Division related to: Rental Inspections Program, Virginia Laws, City Codes, and related resources provided below.
- An Annual Residential Rental Inspection Notice indicating date and time of the scheduled inspection, plus any fees associated with the inspection, is mailed to the owner of record (based on data from the Assessor's office).
Please be advised: The owner of record must provide the Assessor's office with the proper documentation to make the required change. Once the change has been documented, it is the owner's responsibility to contact the Property Maintenance Official – Rental Program Manager Rental Administrator of the change. Contact the City Assessor's Office: 434-455-3830.
- It is the responsibility of the owner to notify hired rental management agencies and/or occupant of the scheduled rental inspection date and time.
- Rentals are added to the rental inspection program by registering each unit, upon observed discovery, complaints, new ownership, legal aid, and or city data.
- For an inspection time to be rescheduled, please call 48 hours prior to scheduled inspection time at 434-455-3922 or email firstname.lastname@example.org for a new inspection date and time.
- Codes violation laws and criminal charges are associated with noncompliance of building code violations and non-payment of fees.
Staff sends a notice to the owner indicating date and time of the scheduled inspection as well as any associated fees.
You can also schedule your inspection from this site using our online scheduler application.
- Initial rental inspection - $50
- First follow-up inspection $0
- Subsequent follow-up inspections $50 each
- NOTE: $50 fee must be paid within 30 days of the inspection. No Certificate of Compliance (CoC) is issued until the fee is paid.
- No violations cited: 4-year waiver and CoC issued
- Violations abated: 4-year waiver and CoC issued
- Violations not abated within reasonable time-frame (30 days): 1-year waiver CoC issued once the violations are addressed
Registering Rental Units
- Safe and habitable housing for its occupants
- Overall appearance of the structure
- Real estate values the in neighborhoods
Landlords and owners renting their property are likely familiar with the:
- Virginia Tenant Landlord Act 2017
- VA State Code of Virginia > Title 55> Property and Conveyances> Chapter 13>Landlord and Tenant
- 2012 Virginia Maintenance Code