City Council/City Manager


Freedom of Information Act


Have a comment, suggestion, or request? Contact us using our online request portal.


M-F, 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM


    You are here

    Home » City Council/City Manager » City Council

    City Council

    Mayor - Treney Tweedy

    Vice Mayor - MaryJane Dolan
    (Ward I)

    Jeff Helgeson
    (Ward III)

    Randy Nelson

    Turner Perrow
    (Ward IV)

    Sterling Wilder
    (Ward II)

    Beau Wright


    This Council serves  from July 2018 - to June 2020.

    Email City Council

    City Council Meetings

    As the chief legislative body of the municipal corporation, the City Council conducts regular meetings for the purpose of accomplishing City Charter-prescribed responsibilities and business transactions. City Council meetings are broadcast live on Lynchburg Government Channel LTV 15.  Council meetings can also be viewed ONLINE.

    • City Council has two regular meetings each month: the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays
    • City Council Chamber, 1st Floor, City Hall, 900 Church Street
    • 4:00 p.m. - Work Session items
    • 7:30 p.m. - Public Hearings and other matters
    • The second regular meeting during the months of July, August and December are normally canceled each year by City Council. (Rules of Procedure)

    City Council Elections

    Through popular elections in May of even numbered years, Lynchburg citizens choose the members of City Council. With staggered 4-year terms of office, City Council is elected on either an At-large (3 members) or Ward (4 members) representational basis. The elected City Council members, in turn, choose by simple majority vote a President (Mayor) and Vice President (Vice Mayor), who each serve for 2 years in that capacity.  

    Other Responsibilities of City Council


    900 Church Street
    Lynchburg, VA 24504
    Average: 4.6 (103 votes)